Concept update

I think it is good to express your thoughts and feelings in words. Something about articulating a thought,helps to bring it into reality. The last time I tried to think of what my music was or what it was about, all I could think was it was about movement, or motion. I still think that motion is the core of what I want to do. Physical,emotional and spiritual motion, I want to move people through my music. Also I am moving to a place where I do not think of solos. I think a big part of why Jazz disconnects with people is that solos,conceptually have moved so far away from the songs they are suppose to be a part of. From embellishments to complete departures that have little to any relationship to the song. I think that if you really do a solo people should not realize it until its to late(so to speak).  I’ve been doing more horn section work and I really enjoy playing lines and building them. You can really make a strong force with building around a idea. I recently saw a video and they person was saying in the video that when he solos he thinks of a melody or idea and even when he departs from it he is thinking of it. I think that is important  and I really really wish there were more backgrounds in music. These are just my thoughts today and I am sure they will change but that is part of life love and evolution.
BGImage

Leave a comment